repeating a post, amazed again

I am repeating an earlier post because again, my girl demonstrates to me the beauty of living a life without judgement and without labels.  Bear with me for those that have already read it.  To me, it is worth repeating.  And once again, I am so grateful that she chose me as her mom to keep reminding me of the most valuable lessons in life.  Much peace, S

different, not better

However many times I accept in my mind the fact that I have a daughter that is developmentally delayed, there are weak moments of motherhood when my deepest, most internal thoughts ask, “what IF she was typical?”  How different would all of our lives be?  Different-YES, better-NO.

I find myself observing her and thinking WOW! if we all could think and behave in the way that she does, our world be a much kinder and more accepting one.

Some may say that her “clueless-ness” of social norms is autism, maybe it is, but the ”clueless-ness” that I observe is an acceptance and open mindedness that this world is lacking. 

She has never described someone as black, retarded, fat, poor, crippled or handicapped. She lives and participates in life with absolutely NO labels.  She truly sees the person; not the color, the race, the beliefs, the status or the ability…just the human being.  Would that happen if she was ‘typical’? 

Learning from her has been the greatest gift in my life.  So again, yeah our lives would be different, but it would defintley not be better.

Leave a Reply

