He turns 18.

My son.  My oldest.  He turns 18.

As I look back at his life I am astonished at first how fast it has come and gone and second how much I am blown away at who he is.

He is compassionate.  He is funny.  He loves his friends.  He honors me.  He cares what I think.  He is strong and sure of himself.  He is sensitive.  He still asks for my opinion.  He makes me laugh.  He gives his best at everything he attempts, well mostly everything; being late to first hour doesn’t count.  He is handsome.  He makes me laugh.  I would like him even if he wasn’t my kid.  His beard color is a prediction that I WILL have red haired grand kids.  He is comfortable with who he is.

On the eve of his 18th birthday, I am both saddened and excited about his future.  I look forward to the decisions and direction that his life will take.  I look forward to seeing how he will choose to use his abilities to build a career and life for himself.  I hope that he will find the things in his life that bring him happiness. 

I am saddened at how fast it went.  I am saddened that I didn’t take more pictures.  I wish I could take back the times I was a young frustrated mom with no idea what I was doing.  I would love to go back and not worry so much about the little things and enjoy just who he is.

I am so grateful that he chose me to be his Mom.  He has given me insight, strength and growth.  He brings me happiness and pride that I never expected. 

He is such a good human being.

I am so very proud of the man that he has become. 

Happy Birthday Ty!

3 thoughts on “He turns 18.

  1. What a beautiful post! I hope you print this one out and put it away somewhere for Ty when he’s even older and will appreciate its beauty. Like when he’s holding that red-haired grandchild of yours.

    thanks…we had a great day, we even talked about the red-haired grankids…not NOW tho..haha :)

  2. Happy Birthday Ty! I can’t believe I have never met him! It’s been way too long since I have seen you! So if the 12th is his birthday then he shares his day with my Grandma Rose who lives in Iowa! Fun! I hope he has a terrific day!

    aww thanks! I think my new year resolution is going to be to re-connect better with old friends..:)

Leave a Reply

