changes

In the last week I have listed my house to be sold, found a new place that I love, enrolled in a month long class to obtain an additional job, began the process to determine if my son’s seizures are impacting his ability to learn, finalized the graduation party plans and decided my ‘day job’ needs to remain the same for the next school year and made final schedule adjustments for my daughters enrollment in high school.  And yes, she will have a work experience IN the community, NOT doing dishes.

Changes.  There are many.

When my girl heard that we are moving she spiraled into a frenzy of worry and anxiety.  Remembering that even moving her bed IN her room requires at least a month of discussion/warning.  The thought of moving entire HOUSES, well that is a recipe for panic attacks. 

I took her to the new place to look at it.  With some great advice, I took the personal aspect out of it and asked her to look for a good place to put the dog bowls.  That was her job, not to decide if she liked the house or her room, but to be focused on the dogs.  She did really well, for about 10 minutes, then decided she needed to sit in the car.   I get many texts throughout the day asking me “are we really moving?”  It has been a week and she is now talking a little more freely about the new place. 

Having your house on the market with teenagers and dogs is difficult.  I am vacuuming daily, the kids are no longer able to fling socks off and deposit them wherever they choose and the dogs are kept outside more.  Whenever we leave for the day, I go through the house turning on lights, straightening towels and hiding socks. 

A friend told me to bury a St. Joseph statue in the backyard and he will bring a buyer.  I am up for anything so I headed off to the statue store.  I asked the lady if she had any St. Joesph’s….her reply, “do you need the house selling kit?”  Kit?  Wow. 

We blessed the little guy and plopped him into the Earth.  Bring on the buyer, Joe.

Graduation is this week.  The closing of one chapter and the opening of a new.  I am proud of him and look forward to see where his life leads him next.  In less than 3 weeks, we set sail for a 3 day cruise to the Bahamas to close this chapter, just him and I. 

The same day the oldest graduates, I have the initial review meeting at school to see if my youngest needs/qualifies for an IEP based on his seizures.  It could be simply that he is being a typical lazy 12 year old boy and is more intersted in the antics of middle school than actual school work.

Moving, graduating, transitioning to high school, initial IEP, work, classes…..oh yah and a divorce….

No wonder the on line stress test showed “extreme stress”…….

There WILL be good that comes from this change, and I am excited to see it unfold…

One thought on “changes

  1. Hang in there friend! It will be stressful, but I agree that whatever awaits you in the process is well worth it!

    I am so proud of you and the strong and loving and lovely woman that you are!!

Leave a Reply

