what’s next

What is next for me? 

I know that on my horizon is autism.  Advocating, training, consulting.  I want to be more effective in helping parents navigate the process.  I want to increase the awareness in the community.  I want to know that when these kids, including mine, are out of the confines of an educational setting where books and essays and often meaningless tasks are required, that they can succeed. 

I want to know that the focus is on people, not objects or rewards.  I want to know that self advocating is happening.  I want to know that my child has the skills to fill out an application and apply for a job.  I want her to have a meaningful and RECIPROCAL relationship with someone.  I want her to know when she is being treated unfairly.  I want her to see the value in herself. 

I want to help desperate schools without autism training to have the skills to work with these kids.  I want to help people to measure the individual’s skills, not the standards. 

I want to help people accept what is and embrace what is.  From there, we move forward….

 The consulting career is coming……I know that is what’s next……

Leave a Reply

