reverb10

I’m a little behind in the cool process so hang in there with me as I catch up..

December 1 – One Word.  Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

My one word for 2010 would be integrity.  The act of being authentic with myself and with others.  I strive to be in alignment with my intent and my action.  This is integrity.  Making decisions with alignment is integrity.   Does my word match my action? Does my action match my intent?  Am I authentic and am I in integrity?

I would like freedom to be the word of 2011 that captures me.  Freedom to explore.  Freedom to learn, to express , to live and to love.

December 2Writing.  What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

I do not allow enough time to sit in quiet and tap into the wisdom that exists within me.  I rush through the tasks of school, work and children and I don’t see that journaling and being still should be as much of  daily routine as making the bed and taking a bath.  Eliminating this means letting go of the need to be “busy”.  Is it still a need to be busy?

December 3Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors)

The moment during which I felt most alive was at the top part of a mesa on a trail that I often find myself on.  The warmth of the sun in my face, with the cool air of the breeze blowing by and kissing my cheeks.  The sounds of the birds in song, the dogs rustling in the brush.  The breath.  My arms extended out as I  reached the peak of the mesa, gazing around to see the majestic mountain range, the deep canyon that lies to my left and the azure blue sky that welcomes the day.  The feeling of being One with the trees, One with the birds, One with the air.  One.  Alive.

December 4Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

I cultivated a sense of wonder in my life when I said yes.  I said yes to respect, partnership, love, equality, and trust.  Wonder happens everyday when I am offered a chance to continue to explore myself.   Wonder comes in listening to the inner wisdom and trusting myself enough.  Wonder is in looking at my purpose and seeing value in that.  Wonder is taking steps to allow more love, more joy, more purpose into my life.  Wonder is laying my head on the pillow and asking myself if I made a difference today.

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?

I let go of the little girl who used to allow her bully of a big brother to hurt her.  I let go of the hope that he would support and honor me.  I let go of the need to please him.  I gently asked him that when he is ready to be in my life and not inflict his own pain onto me,  then let me know. His way of handling his pain is to make others feel bad.  I have not heard from him since March.

By letting go of the expectation allowed me to take care of my little girl inside.  Letting go of the expectation of approval allowed me to discover it myself.

Letting go meant saying goodbye, for now, to my brother.  Letting go allowed sadness and loss to emerge, while also allowing empowered to exist.

December 6Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

The last thing I made was a scarf for a friend.  I selected the yarn with her in mind and lovingly stitched it.  I wouldn’t say we are close friends, but her kindness and love for scarves sparked something in me to make her one.

Each stitch and each turn I am happy with the idea of surprising her with something that will be unexpected.  I can hear her vivacious laugh as she wraps the scarf around her neck and I will know the beauty that went into the making of the scarf.

December 7Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Community.  I have discovered community through teaching  Yoga to adults with disabilities.  The pure goodness that I get to see in each of them has offered so much value of community in my life. The richness that they bring to my life, the connections, the ego-less existence that they teach me is beyond my grasp.  Each time, each moment that our eyes connects and our souls play I am reminded of this valuable community.

 

6 thoughts on “reverb10

  1. I love it that you picked up on #reverb10! Way to go and get all caught up.

    I had no idea you were having such a hard time with your brother. I am saddened to hear that you have lost touch but I completely understand your need to protect your little girl. I’ve been helping my little girl out a lot lately and it is HUGE to let go of expecting people to act differently when they are incapable of doing so. Hopefully he will find some peace that will allow him to come back.

  2. Wow!!! even though you went through those posts quickly and briefly, you did a great job communicating. I loved the section about letting go. It’s hard to do the right thing sometimes.

    God Bless

Leave a Reply

