striving

December 25Photo – a present to yourself

Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

I am not sure that this picture best captures me as I am today, but it does capture an intention that I strive to be.

It was an early summer hike, not this summer, but a few summers ago.  The picture was taken by another friend as we hiked a beautiful canyon.

Little did I know that this would be the last hike in this canyon that I would take with my friend shown in the picture.  Many times my friend and I talked about going back to Waldo Canyon, but time slipped away and it didn’t happen.

My friend lost a battle this fall with melanoma.

The ways that I will strive to be like her include her commitment to friendships.  Her natural ability to both take care of herself and nurture friendships was admirable.  I know that her gift to me was to remember to love and care for those in my life; create time and commit to connection, value friendship, listen to my gut and that I am capable of anything.

In Nicole’s famous words, I say, “rock it, sistah.”

Leave a Reply

