gift prompt–reverb continues

December 30Gift Prompt: Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year?

I had been complaining to myself earlier in the day about having yet another commitment.  As I drove to teach the last Yoga class for adults with disabilities for this session, I came up with all the reasons as to why I should not be volunteering to do this anymore.  In my head, I said I did not have time and this was draining me.

What I didn’t say was that this is only an hour. I didn’t say how much this means to me.  I didn’t say how much this feeds my soul.

As my sweet participants arrived, each one so happy to be there, I began to sense the shift in me that almost always occurs.  Their individual joy and presence to be at Yoga is infectious.

I glanced out the window and saw a few coming off the public transportation bus, in wheelchairs, covered in blankets and coats to stay warm in the November air.  I saw my friend that drives herself, painstakingly get her walker out of the backseat as she props herself against her car.  I silently wondered about the effort it takes these women to come to Yoga.  And I compared that to my efforts, and attitude, about coming to Yoga.

The class was as beautiful as ever.  The joy, the laughter, the connection was all magnificent.

As we all sat in a circle holding hands preparing to say ‘Namaste’….I looked over at my friend, Dominic.  The way that Dominic says ‘Namaste’ brings a giggle to me every time.  He doesn’t softly say it, he says, “NNNNAAAAMMMMMAAAASTEEEEEEEEEEEE, Ms. Stacie, N-A-M-A-S-T-E!!!”

But this time, Dominic had his head down and he was sobbing.  I asked him if he wanted to say ‘Namaste’ with me.  He continued to cry.

I leaned into Dominic and asked what was wrong.  He said, “If I say Namaste, then that means Yoga will be over and I don’t ever want Yoga to be over. I love you, Stacie.”

A gift.  Something that cannot be bought.  The gift that showed me the value in continuing to teach Yoga.  The gift was to be grateful.  The gift was a reminder of the ease in which I can move about my life.  The gift was pure love, pure soul purpose.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

