December Reverb time again

Day 1

What was your guiding word for 2011?

My guiding word for 2011 was expansion.  I had hoped (and am glad to report) that did not mean my hips.  When I began my journal January 1, 2011 and the word that came to me was expansion, I had no idea what might be in store for me.

How did I find expansion?

  • I maintained a 4.0 in full-time college, while working three jobs and raising a family.
  • I founded an amazing non-profit organization (www.embracingspirityoga.com) that brings Yoga into center for seniors, people with disabilities, and anyone else willing to say yes.
  • I experienced the death of my two best four-legged friends a girl could ever have.
  • I spent weeks in therapy re-discovering what I already knew.
  • I surrendered to something raw, beautiful, and real.

The year brought to me opportunities to speak my truth, to feel things deep within my heart, to grieve losses, and to believe in the power of who I am.

Pretty fantastic expansion I would say.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 2

My children will do it differently — If you could choose one thing that your children will do or experience in a different way than you have, what would it be and why?

One thing…I am going to wrap my one thing up into one giant thing of self-love.

Self-love in the form of hope. It is my hope that my children will experience themselves in a different way than I have.  My hope is that they will listen to their internal wisdom, the gut instinct, and their inner voice sooner than I did.  My hope is that they will seek ways to feed themselves pleasure, hope, and potential.  My hope is that they will believe in themselves enough to always speak their truth.  My hope is that they realize their potential without having to suffer in order to finally get it. My hope is that they will recognize that they have choice.  My hope is that they will love themselves first.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 3

What did you read?

Textbooks.  Lots of textbooks:  World History, English, Algebra, Psychology I & II, Into to Social Work, Philosophy, Computer Literacy, Interpersonal Communications, Sociology, Physical Anthropology, Literature, Human Nutrition.

Sophie’s World–A fantastic philosophy book.

Jonathon Livingston Seagull…again, and again…

The Help

Each month’s Yoga Journal.

Working my through the Bhagavad Gita.

Repeat: Everyday Grace, Marianne Williamson.

Leave a Reply

