To remain in the moment

“Life will give you whatever experience is most helpful for the evolution of your consciousness. How do you know this is the experience you need? Because this is the experience you are having at the moment.” ~eckhart tolle

I have spent the last 36 hours wondering just what the experience of a herniated disk has in my evolving consciousness. I came up with a few good answers.

I am experiencing what it means to be slow. Slow in movement due to the pain, slow in thoughts due to the painkillers.

I am mindful each time I move. I am aware of my feet on the floor and where and how I navigate from seated position to standing. I am mindful of my posture and my breath.

I am practicing patience with myself and I am vulnerable in recognizing that I need help.

Finally, I am incredibly grateful for my health and my ability to heal. I am grateful for the people in my life that have jumped in to help and to take care of me. I am grateful for the doors that remain open as I may take a detour along the way.

I am not convinced that I needed this particular experience to be reminded of these things, but I am not one to question the universe. Instead, I will look for each day to be a chance to be offered something more to gain. And to remain in the moment.

One thought on “To remain in the moment

Leave a Reply

