Out Beyond

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing
and rightdoing there is a field.
I’ll meet you there. ~Rumi

My Sunday morning solo walks have become a sacred and much needed part of my life.  Similar to a dry sponge receiving water, my soul eagerly soaks in all that nature envelopes me with.  The trees reaching out to me as if to offer a hug and the colors of the late-blooming summer flowers emerge from the soil, my eyes and my ears are overcome with aliveness.

I find that on these walks my thoughts transverse across the many trails of my internal mind.  Sometimes my thoughts stay along one trail, and other times I move about my own canyon lands remembering, hoping, and sometimes even dreaming.

Walking along the cliffs scattered with trees and amazing rock formations, today I found myself drawn to the dappling of shadows that danced along the trails. As the light of the shining sun flickered between the leaves the shadows were what my feet stepped over time and time again.

I thought to myself of the shadow and light that exist within myself.  For each light, there is also a shadow.  So often the shadow is hidden.  While walking today, I saw a rich and deep beauty in the revealing of the shadow that became my trail guide.

Crisscrossing along the trail and in my mind with the occasional brushing up to my dogs, I soon quieted into the stillness and peace that often comes when I am in nature.  Embracing the dappling of my own shadow and light while on the trail my mind slowed and my heart opened.

Out beyond the ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing.  It is here that I meet me.  And it is here that I am free.

Leave a Reply

