Defining me

Recently I have been ruminating on the always present questions of life…Who am I and what is my purpose? More specifically the question that keeps coming to me is what defines me?

Walking today in the late sun I watched with wonder at my shadow leading me.  I couldn’t take my eyes off the silhouette of the woman who I am.

Feeling a bit like I was outside of myself I began to list what I believe may define me: I am an exquisite lover of nature.  I am a master dog walker and tree lover. I am collector of rocks. I have a crazy addiction to kickboxing. I have been known to judge others.  I am aware of my body and what it needs.  I am intuitive.  I speak my mind.  I prefer mornings to nights.  I wish that I was less anxious about things I cannot change.  I am empowered by empowering others. I am sometimes afraid.  I wonder if I will ever  be still.  I love to be on a trail with only my thoughts. I have been hurt and I have hurt others.  I know what loss is.  I am a redhead. I worry too much. I love to write.  I am an advocate.  I am a seeker.  I am compassionate.  I practice gratitude everyday. I am strong-willed and powerful.  I am a friend, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a lover, and a yogi.

My purpose?  To find me.  To listen.  To love.  To forgive.  To be.

Leave a Reply

