Forever

I watch her from a distance and my heart is tender.

I see through the glistening of my own tears the innocence of who she is.

I quiet the thoughts in my head of days long gone.

I stop my mind from traveling down the road of what if.

I feel the hollow in my belly when I think ahead.

I know the challenges that lie before her.

I hope with all the hope in my heart that she can be happy.

My heart breaks for the loss.

She is my girl.

She is an adult with a developmental disability.

Forever.

Leave a Reply

