Contrast

There is nothing quite like a solo hike in a desolate forest on a snowy winter day.  The trail barren, minus a set of footprints that lead me through the emptiness.  The quietness of the trees–no breeze, no birds, no sounds….just snow falling softly. The example of life and death the entire four miles was grounding and offered me stillness. It quieted me.

What was once a vibrant and green filled pine forest is now a skeletal cemetery of burnt trees.  Contrasted with the fresh snow, it was haunting in its appearance.

It said to me “wait now, all things come and go”.  It cautioned me to not be sad, for the next cycle will be magnificent.  It reminded me to not anticipate but rather, be.

IMG_5384

 

Leave a Reply

